TREC License Requirements

Texas Online Real Estate License Courses


An individual must first furnish the Commission satisfactory evidence of successfully completing the following education:

180 hours of Core Courses consisting of the following
Courses included in package: (These are the 6 TREC required classes)


TREC educational requirements


Steps to getting a real estate license
Home98 Hr SAEPDF Format18 hour MCETREC RequirFAQsExamSteps Contact  

Texas Real Estate
License Online
180 hours in core courses now required for salesperson license

1.Education Improvement Measures
  • Pre-license education requirements for a salesperson license changed from 210 total to 180 core hours .
  • Related education requirements is longer be required but the education requirements for the first renewal of a salesperson license increases from 60 to 90 core hours.
  • The total number of hours needed for the first renewal of a salesperson license remains at 270 hours. (180 prelicense hours plus 90 SAE hours)

Click here for info on TREC's new Online licensee Service requirements

What's New?

How to Become a Licensed Real Estate Salesperson


Salesperson License

TREC wants people to file online.
  • The requirements have not changed but how you apply has.
  • In the past most people would send in their education and pay the $30 fee to have their education evaluated.
  • People will no longer be able to do this.
  • The applicant will have to submit their education with their paid application.
  • Also if they file an application using a paper form they will be charged a $20 fee.

Pre Application Education Evaluation No Longer Required!
  • Real estate applicants will no longer be required to submit an education evaluation request & receive a notice from TREC that the education requirements have been satisfied prior to submitting an application.
  • The education eval. request form is eliminated & education course completion documents must be submitted when the application is filed.
  • Application forms have been revised to incorporate the change.

BACK TO TOP






























These are the newest courses that comply with the new TREC guidelines. The new rules state that a 30 hour qualifying course cannot be completed in less than 30 hours

Notes:
  • Any 30 hour course and exam cannot be completed before 30 hours (three 10 hour days) has elaped. Therefore it will take a minumum of 3 weeks to complete the 6 courses and exams.
  • As far as testing for individual courses, 30 hour courses require a 3 day wait time between the purchase date and the exam
  • The courses are in a PDF format and are not "timed" as such.

Back to top

These six courses are required courses and must be completed to meet education requirements for a real estate sales agent's license and an individual broker's license.

Principles of Real Estate -
Shall include but not be limited to an overview of licensing as a real estate broker and sales agent, ethics of practice, titles to and conveyancing of real estate, legal descriptions, deeds encumbrances and liens, distinctions between personal and real property, appraisal, finance and regulations, closing procedures, real estate mathematics , and at least three classroom hours of instruction on federal, state, and local laws relating to housing discrimination, housing credit discrimination, and community reinvestment.

Law of Agency -
Shall include but not be limited to the principal-agent and master- servant relationships, the authority of an agent, the termination of an agent's authority, the fiduciary and other duties of an agent, employment law, deceptive trade practices, listing or buying representation procedures, and the disclosure of agency.

Law of Contracts -
Shall include but not be limited to the elements of a contract, offer and acceptance, the statute of frauds, specific performance and remedies for breach, unauthorized practice of law, commission rules relating to use of adopted forms, and owner disclosure requirements.

Promulgated Contract Forms - (required as of 9/1/12)
Shall include but not be limited to the unauthorized practice of law, broker-lawyer committee, current promulgated forms, commission rules governing use of forms, and case studies involving the use of forms.

Real Estate Finance - (required as of 9/1/12)
Shall include but not be limited to monetary systems, primary and secondary money markets, sources of mortgage loans, federal government programs, loan applications, processes and procedures, closing costs, alternative financial instruments, equal credit opportunity acts, community reinvestment act, and state housing agency.

Real Estate Brokerage -
Note: 30-hour Real Estate Brokerage course required for all broker applicants as of Jan. 1, 2008
Shall include but not be limited to law of agency, planning and organization, operational policies and procedures, recruiting, selection and training of personnel, records and control, and real estate firm analysis and expansion criteria.

Steps to getting a Texas real estate license

1. Enroll in the required 180 Hour Texas Real Estate Courses set forth by the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC)

2. Login and read the courses at your own speed. You can complete the courses in the faster manner available.

3 .Login for quizzes. Make at least a 70 on each of the quizzes to proceed.

4. Your course completion certificates for the course(s) will be in your account.
Create an online account with the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC). After creating an online account with the Texas Real Estate Commission follow the steps to file your online application.
Submit Certificates of completion for your Texas Real Estate Courses to the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC). [[email protected]] with application.
TREC steps to obtain a real estate license >> http://www.trec.state.tx.us/licenses/salesapp.asp

5.. When TREC has had time to post your course competions, they will email you a number and instructions to use to sign up for the state exam. There are state testing facilities in many locations across Texas as well as finger print facilities all over the state of Texas.

6. Study Exam prep included in Premium & Ultimate Packages.

7.Take the state exam and pass with at least a 70.

8.*You don't have to have a sponsoring broker before you take the courses and the state exam. When you pass the exam, you will be licensed in an Inactive status. When you've selected a broker, you can send a request for sponsorship through the My License Services of the TREC site and he/she can accept and your license will be transferred.

Back to top

(*The Keyword Searchable database will help you find answers during the quizzes, and throughout the courses making it the equivalent of open book quizzes)



Become a Real Estate Sales Agent (per TREC web site)
​https://www.trec.texas.gov/become-licensed/sales-agent


A sales agent is a person who is licensed by the Real Estate Commission to act as an agent on behalf of a real estate broker and their clients. A sales agent must be sponsored by a licensed Broker in order to perform any act of real estate services.

You have one year from the date your application is filed to meet all license requirements. Once you have met all the requirements to get your license, including finding a broker sponsorship, TREC will send an active sales agent license to your broker and to you via email!

Qualifications

  • Citizen of the United States or lawfully admitted alien
  • 18 years of age or older
  • Resident of Texas
  • Meet TREC’s qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity

Requirements

Complete Your Qualifying Education

180 classroom hours of the following qualifying real estate courses

  • Principles of Real Estate I (30 classroom hours)
  • Principles of Real Estate II (30 classroom hours)
  • Law of Agency (30 classroom hours)
  • Law of Contracts (30 classroom hours)
  • Promulgated Contracts Forms (30 classroom hours)
  • Real Estate Finance (30 classroom hours)

Education course completion documents must be submitted with your application.

File Your Application

Apply Online

Submit your application and fee to become a Sales Agent using our Online Services. If you don’t already have a username and password for our Online Services, register now. If you have registered online with TALCB or TREC in the past, log in now.

Apply by Mail

If you prefer, you can also apply for your Sales Agent license using our paper application. This may take longer to process and you will need to pay a paper filing fee.

Get Your Fingerprints Taken and Pass Your Background Check

You are required by law to have fingerprints on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so a background check can be performed. Fingerprints on file for other agencies will not be accepted.

A license will not issue if the background check has not been passed. Expect a delay if you are notified of an investigation into your background history.

Take the Exam

License exams are administered by PearsonVUE, a testing service company.

You will be sent a notice with instructions for scheduling the exam and obtaining a copy of the exam Candidate Handbook.

If you fail the exam more than three times, additional education will be necessary.

Find a Sponsor

You need to be sponsored by an active Texas licensed broker to work. You can complete a sponsorship request using our online services. Once the broker has accepted your request, your active license will be issued, and you can work as a Sales Agent!


Back to top
Texas Online Real Estate License Course
Sales Support Questions
877-250-4435

Courses Provided by Midwestern State University (#0209/#0304) A TREC approved provider
In Association with State Continuing Education (#0640)




Association of Real Estate License Law Officials
www.arello.org